Honest Review — Contact Paper Counter tops

** THIS NOT A TUTORIAL — TUTORIAL COMING SOON **

When I first heard of contact paper being used on counter tops, I didn’t think twice about it. But then as we got closer to putting our house on the market – I started researching my options. I noticed that more and more people were using this contact paper in their kitchens. I had never heard of it so I did some reading. It seemed to be a good temporary solution to “pretty up” a space. Some people had them for 2 months and one person had them for 5 years! So I watched a bunch of how-to videos and ordered my “counter tops”.

HERE is the link to the contact paper I purchased.

I bought this specific type for the color, but also the width. There are different sizes – you just have to look around.

WHAT IS IT?

Contact paper is basically thick paper that acts like vinyl. It is smooth on one side and really sticky on the other.

PROS

Price: $38 for entire kitchen – affordable!

Forgiving: Bubbles do appear and they are annoying, but because of the pattern on the paper, they are not noticeable. Even scratches are easily hidden.

Looks GOOD: Looks like my kitchen has fancy, expensive counters!

Versatile: Several colors and patterns to choose from – goes with any style.

CONS

Time: This is a time-consuming project. Once you get more familiar with material, you move faster.

Heat Sensitive: Like any counter top, you should take care to not place hot objects directly on top. Same with contact paper.

Cutting: Again, like any counter top, use a cutting board – do not cut directly on contact paper. It cuts pretty easily. But if you use a cutting board regularly, it shouldn’t be an issue.

OVERALL

I really like our contact paper counter tops. It is a great TEMPORARY solution to make your kitchen look good. I say temporary because eventually it will have to be replaced. I did 2 coats of polycrylic to make ours more permanent and to help with sealing, but it will have to be changed out  or re-done in a couple years. I would recommend this project, but with the advice to do your research beforehand. Know that it will take some time, but it’s worth it if done properly. We have had the contact paper counter tops for about 2 months. It has held up awesomely! Small imperfections here and there, but overall it has worked great for us. Shoot me any additional messages you may have!

Leave a comment